Mannywood gets another meaning.


coloradorockiesvlosangelesdodgersl6xn-osra23l

The Dodgers have the best record in baseball right now but they’ll be missing one of their biggest offensive producers, Manny Ramirez, until June 3rd thanks to a failed drug test. My first thought: weed. Wrong. My second thought: steroids. Wrong again. Never a thought: HCG, a performance enhancing drug… to be used in the bedroom. The drug was prescribed by his doctor but the medication (or at least one of its ingredients) are banned under the leagues drug policy. Manny’s official statement via SportsCenter:

“Recently I saw a physician for a personal health issue. He gave me a medication, not a steroid, which he thought was OK to give me. Unfortunately, the medication was banned under our drug policy. Under the policy that mistake is now my responsibility. I have been advised not to say anything more for now. I do want to say one thing; I’ve taken and passed about 15 drug tests over the past five seasons. I want to apologize to Mr. McCourt, Mrs. McCourt, Mr. Torre, my teammates, the Dodger organization, and to the Dodger fans. LA is a special place to me and I know everybody is disappointed. So am I. I’m sorry about this whole situation.”

This is pretty unfortunate for the Dodgers but I’d say it’s going to be costing Manny significantly more, to the tune of $7.7 million to be precise.

The reporting on this is obviously pretty premature considering Manny’s been told to keep his mouth shut (besides the statement above) and the league never wants to release the information reporters need to get the full story. FanIQ is reporting a bit more on HCG, which also doubles as a female fertility drug that helps steroid users regulate testosterone levels.

With A-Rod admitting to using steroids, the MLB is drifting to a point beyond the Mitchell report where it’s getting harder to detect drugs in the athletes system. Could steroid use be more prevalent than it has been in the past? Possible. In the end, it just makes people wonder how legitimate baseball really is.

It’s a shame to see this happen but that’s what you get when you don’t play fair.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

