Pat Barry went from homeless to rich overnight.


Pat Barry - 003

I don’t follow MMA at all. It’s an up and coming sport that has a lot of dedicated fans but frankly, it’s just not my cup of tea.

There are some good stories that come out of the sport though, including this one about Pat Barry, who KO’d Antoni Hardonk in UFC 104, earning him $120,000 in bonuses. Barry was six days away from being evicted from his apartment and said if the fight had been canceled, it would have been game over for him. The story of the ordeal of cashing the check is actually quite funny and it’s good to hear this guy is back on his feet.

“I go to the bank, I’m sweaty, I’ve got the black eye, I haven’t shaven in two days, I’m strung out because I haven’t slept, I have green circles under my eyes so I’m like ‘Can I have a deposit slip mam?’. She gives it to me, I fill it out hand it to her. She looks at the deposit slip, then the check, then looks at me and says ‘Excuse me I’ll be right back.’ Then a manager comes out, a guy in a suit and says ‘What seems to be the problem?’ I was like ‘Well I have a black eye, that’s the only problem I know this looks really ridiculous.’ So he asks me for my ID, I hand him my license an he’s like ‘Your license says Pat Barry, but this check was written to Patrick Barry.’ So I decided to be funny and tell him Pat Barry is in my trunk right now. He didnt laugh. So I told him take your time man do whatever you need to do because I have no where to go and my truck probably wont start when I go outside so you can just do whatever you need to do. An hour later he came back and everything was fine, the check was in my bank account.”

Stories like these are a lot better than hearing about how much A-Rod makes and his portraits of himself as a centaur hanging above his bed.

I’d say something like this would get me to actually watch a UFC match, but I’ll be honest, I’m not going to. Still good to see a story like this, though.

[via Fan IQ via Cage Writer]

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Pat Barry went from homeless to rich overnight.”

  1. Sports on the Web | Gunaxin Says:

    […] Pat Berry went from homeless to rich overnight [The Nine Commandments] […]

Leave a Reply

